Mike Patton and Dave Lombardo supergroup Dead Cross release self-titled debut album: Stream


Photo by SAWA

Dead Cross, the new hardcore supergroup featuring Mike Patton and ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo, are due to release their self-titled debut album this Friday, August 4th. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full on Noisey.

The full-length collects together 10 new tracks, including “Idiopathic”, “Bela Lugosi’s Dead”, and early singles “Seizure and Desist” and “Grave Slave”. The band, which is rounded out by The Locust bassist Justin Pearson and guitarist Michael Crain of Retox and Festival of Dead Deer, was joined in the studio by producer Ross Robinson (At The Drive-In, Glassjaw).

(Read: The 100 Greatest Singers of All Time)

In an interview with Noisey, Patton explained how Dead Cross was partially inspired by the political turmoil currently facing the US. “The whole climate around the election definitely was inspiring,” he said. “Just the hysteria and the sense of panic and fear, I think affected a lot of the way I wrote this record.”

For his part, Lombardo described the LP as “the heaviest album I’ve ever recorded.” “It gives me an adrenaline rush,” he continued. Where some people might get that kick off of maybe doing some kind of drug or something, I get off on playing onstage and playing this style of music. It’s euphoric. It’s like sprinting or doing a quarter-mile as fast as you can.”

In support, Dead Cross will hit the road next week for their first-ever US tour.

Dead Cross Artwork:

dead cross album stream Mike Patton and Dave Lombardo supergroup Dead Cross release self titled debut album: Stream

Dead Cross Tracklist:
01. Seizure and Desist
02. Idiopathic
03. Obedience School
04. Shillelagh
05. Bela Lugosi’s Dead
06. Divine Filth
07. Grave Slave
08. The Future Has Been Cancelled
09. Gag Reflex
10. Church of the Motherfuckers

Related Post

· · · · · · · · · · · ·

Related Articles & Comments

Menu Title