2016-04-24 ALBUM REVIEW – PIRATES OF THE PUBS "Drunken Forever"

Pirates of the Pubs “Drunken Forever” Self-released
Release date: March 17, 2016
Running time: 33:04, 13 tracks

The Czech Republic has a burgeoning Celtic punk scene. Most of the Celtic punk fans will name immediately bands such as Pipes and Pints, Benjaming’s Clan or Cheers!. Apart from them, we have come across a bunch of amazing bands in the last years: Curlies, Vintage Wine, Five Leaf Clover and Pirates of the Pubs.

Pirates of the Pubs hail from České Budějovice in the Czech region of Bohemia, a city famous for their local beer Budweiser Budvar. They are Baruška aka Barča (lead vocals, fiddle, tin whistle), Skippy (lead vocals, mandolin), knuP (electric guitar, ukulele), Rimmsie (bass, background vocals), Adam L’Kroh (acoustic guitar, background vocals), Matěj aka Doktor Zicherheitz (accordion, background vocals) and Jirka (drums).

Drunken Forever” starts with “(Pirates) …. Are coming” a Celtic punk intro sung in English showcasing mandolin, fiddle and yohoho screams.

The next track is sung in their mother tongue: “Vítejte na palubě”,  a fast-paced song featuring fiddle and accordion with a chorus that reminds me of Skontra.

Jolly Roger” is a pirate number sung by Skippy too. The rhythm section and the electric guitar back perfectly the accordion and the fiddle on this song with an infectious chorus to sing along.

Track no. 4 is titled “Irish Music Heart” and it’s the first song on the album that is sung by fiddler Barča. As usual, a lively song with a well balanced mix between electric and acoustic instruments.

Skippy sings again on “Stupid Drinking Song”. Barča plays tin whistle on this number showcasing la la la chorus.

Another song about the band, “Pirates of the Pubs”. The song begins acoustically but soon burst into a fast-paced Celtic punk number. Barča sings lead vocals.

Tell Me Ma” is a song that has been over-exposed. Anyway, Pirates of the Pubs deliver an interesting rendition sung by Barča. At the beginning, they use the lyric “She’s the belle of Dublin city” instead of the usual “She’s the belle of Belfast city”. As the Orthodox Celts and The Rumjacks did on their covers, Pirates of the Pubs finally mention their home town at the end of the song: “She’s the belle of Budweis city”.

The following track, “Bohemian”,  is a proud a cappella song about their region, where Barča sings lead vocals and the boys sing the backing vocals.

Track no. 9 is called “Na vlnách naděje” and obviously is sung in Czech by Skippy. It’s a kick-ass fast-paced Celtic punk anthemwhich is followed by another song in Czech based on the “Star of the County Down” tune: “Vlci“. The arrangements are top-notch and all the band members do a great job.

More songs about the band: “Budweis Pirates Clan”. Gang vocals and brilliant accordion by Doktor Zicherheitz.

Pirates of the Pubs move to the rebel songs territory with “The Wind that Shakes the Barley”, a self-penned song that fits perfectly well to  the 100 anniversary of the Easter rising. The first part has an Irish Stew of Sindidun twist and Barča plays tin whistle instead of fiddle on this number.
To finish up, Barča sings a quieter song called “The Boy from Copenhaguen” backed by the acoustic guitar.

Drunken Forever” is packed in a digipack that comes with a 16 page booklet where all the lyrics to the songs and a lot of pics are included. The album was recorded, mixed and mastered at Hellsound studio and the artwork was made by knuP. Several bands are thanked too, among them Vintage Wine, Hakka Muggies and Cheers!.

Pirates of the PubsDrunken Forever” is an impressive debut album with a great production and a fantastic sound. “The Legendary Irish Punk Band”, as they called themselves on the CD tray, has recorded 13 different songs and only two standards. And the packaging is a labour of love too. I’m looking forward to listening to their sophomore album. Hats-off !


01 – …Are Coming 1:07
02 – Vítejte Na Palube 2:15
03 – Jolly Roger 2:08
04 – Irish Music Heart 2:24
05 – Stupid Drinking Song 2:44
06 – Pirates of the Pubs – 3:13
07 – Tell Me ma 2:00
08 – Bohemian 2:39
09 – Na Vlnách Nadeje 2:09
10 – Vlci 3:45
11 – Budweis Pirates Clan 2:58
12 – The Wind That Shakes The Barley 3:15
13 – Boy From Copenhagen 1:59


Contact the band to buy the CD:
[email protected]

Review by Kinksmarkham

Related Articles & Comments

Menu Title