Sydney bush/ folk punk institution Handsome Young Strangers will drop their brand new mini album ‘The Bleeding Bridge’ on Fri Dec 07. The mini album will be the ninth release on the fledging Tasmanian label “Folk ‘Til Ya Punk” and is available in physical and digital formats.

It has been six years since the release of the ‘Thunderbolt’ single and the accompanying video which gathered nearly 2 million views on YouTube and even found its way onto the Country Music TV Channel !

In 2016 the band released their ‘Battle Of Broken Hill’ EP which was their first for the ‘Folk ‘Til Ya Punk’ label and made many end of year best of lists for 2016 worldwide.

The Bleeding Bridge EP contains three original tracks as well as a cover of the Triffid’s classic:  ‘Wide Open Road’ (featuring Jason Walker on pedal steel) and notably, a suitably shambolic  breakneck version of the Australian Trad tune “Limejuice Tub”!

About Handsome Young Strangers

Handsome Young Strangers are a Sydney folk / punk / bushband comprising of 6 core members and a revolving door of guests.  Formed in 2004 and taking influences from bands such as Roaring Jack, Weddings Parties Anything, Redgum and The Bushwackers, the band built a loyal inner city following through their intense live shows.  This interest quickly led to major festival appearances and to date they have appeared at:  Woodford Folk Festival, National Folk Festival, Great Escape Festival, Sydney Blues & Roots Festival, Illawarra Folk Festival and many more.

Handsome Young Strangers today show no sign of slowing down with an album planned for 2019 backed up with plenty of interstate touring and festival appearances.

Sydney launch show:

Sydney – Marrickville Bowling Club, Marrickville:  Fri Dec 14, 2018

Also appearing at:

Botany View Hotel, Newtown:  Mon Dec 31
Hobofopo Folk/Punk Festival, Hobart:  Dec 7 – 9, 2018
Illawarra Folk Festival:  Jan 17 – Jan 20, 2019
Union Hotel, Newtown:  Sun Jan 27, 2019


1. Coming Home (Dickinson) 3.26
2. The Bleeding Bridge (Dickinson) 3.30
3. Limejuice Tub (Trad / HYS) 3.15
4.The Rose Hill Packet (Hyland) 3.09
5. Wide Open Road (D. McComb) 4.10

Track 5 originally recorded by The Triffids

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Michael Carpenter at Love Hz Studios, Leichardt – Aug / Sep 2018.

Handsome Young Strangers are:

Drizabone D:   Lead Vocals (Tracks 1,2,3 & 5),  Mandola, Acoustic, Percussion
Mark ‘Na-Na’ Hyland:  Lead Vocals (Track 4), Electric Guitars, Acoustic, Baritone
Edward Lawlor:  Mandolin, Tin Whistle, Vocals
Adam Young: Electric Guitars, Vocals
Dave Hatt:  Bass, Electric Guitar (Track 4), Vocals
Mark ‘Looch’ Lewis:   Drums, Percussion, Vocals

Special guests on this recording:

Ben Pattinson: Squeeze Box (tracks 1,2 & 3)
Luke Moller: Fiddle (tracks 1, 3 & 5)
Jason Walker: Pedal Steel (track 5)
Michael Carpenter:  Honky Tonk Piano (track 4), Backing Vocals (track 5)

Front cover art by Jimmy Meeks at Fatal Design

Cover layout and design by Jim Mongrel at Drink Coffee & Destroy


Related Post

· · · ·

Related Articles & Comments

Menu Title