Anti Cimex - Country of Sweden
Subhumans - evolution

Los Fastidios

Crucified punk & skin
Extreme Noise Terror - phonophobia


Poison Idea – Record Collectors Are Pretentious Assholes (1984) Vinyl LP Reissue

Band: Poison Idea

Album: Record Collectors Are Pretentious Assholes

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock Hardcore

Label: Bitzcore

Release Country: Germany

Record Type: 12 Tracks Vinyl LP Reissue

Poison Idea was started in 1980 in Portland, Oregon, by vocalist Jerry A. (Lang). Within a year, the band had a solid lineup with drummer Dean Johnson, guitarist Tom Roberts (aka Pig Champion), and bassist Glen Estes. The band was motivated by the Germs and Black Flag, and took their musical cues from bands such as Discharge and SOA. Pushing the speed limits of contemporary punk rock, they played raw and angry hardcore the likes of which had rarely been heard before (or since). Their 1983 debut EP, Pick Your King, is a classic and arguably the best hardcore record ever released. Its subsequent followup, Record Collectors are Pretentious Assholes (featuring Pig Champion's substantial collection on the cover), saw Chris "Tense" replacing Glen on bass. Both were put out on the Fatal Erection label, run by Pig Champion and Malcom Conover from Eugene, Oregon.

In 1986, Poison Idea released the aptly titled Kings of Punk LP on Pushead's Pusmort label. By this time, the band's sound had changed from manic, breakneck thrash, to a more driving, Motorhead-influenced attack - losing none of their intensity, anger, or nihilism. In the next few years, Poison Idea's lineup (mainly the rhythm section) changed several times. 1987's War All the Time was somewhat of a misstep - nowhere near as powerful as their previous output - although the two EPs released the next year both had good material.

By 1989, Poison Idea seemed to pull it together; after trouble with reco (...)

12 Tracks
A1 A.A.
A2 Legalize Freedom
A3 Cold Comfort
A4 Typical
A5 Thorn In My Side
A6 Laughing Boy
B1 Rubber Husband
B2 Right ?
B3 Rich Get Richer
B4 Don't Like It Here
B5 Die On Your Knees
B6 Time To Go

First pressing with a red sleeve and no barcode on back sleeve.

Issued with a printed inner sleeve with lyrics, 1989 Bitzcore catalog, and Frontline ad.

Includes 4 additional tracks taken from previous compilations, A4, B2 & B5 from the 'Cleanse The Bacteria' 2xLP and A6 from the 'Drinking Is Great' 7" EP.

Recorded At Falcon Studios, Portland, Oregon, Aug. 14-18, 1984, except track A6 'Laughing Boy' recorded April 1985.

EFA (D), SRD (GB), Boudisque (NL), P.A.S. (F), C.B.R. (S), Rec Rec (CH), EMP (A).

p 1989 Bitzcore.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 1,356 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments



Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

The Restarts - Fuck corporate punk
Tagada Jones


Aus-Rotten - Fuck nazi sympathy
Leftover Crack

The Pist

Menu Title