Stiff Little Fingers – Alternative Ulster (1978) Vinyl Album 7″

Band: Stiff Little Fingers

Album: Alternative Ulster

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock

Label: Rigid Digits

Release Country: United Kingdom

Record Type: 2 Tracks Vinyl Album 7"

Northern irish Punk band formed around 1977 with the original members being Jake Burns, Ali McMordie, Henry Cluney & Brian Faloon. This version of the band recorded their first LP "Inflammable Material" which included their signature songs about life in Belfast, "Alternative Ulster", "Suspect Device" and "Wasted Life" but also a musically bold reworking of Bob Marley's "Johnny Was" Moving to London in 1979, the band lost Brian Faloon who was replaced on drums by Jim Reilly. They recorded the LP "Nobody's Heroes" for Chrysalis, an LP which was poppier than "Inflammable Material" but continued exploring similar themes. A cover of the Specials "Doesn't Make It Alright" was included, less successfully than "Johnny Was". "Nobody's Heroes" was followed by the pure power pop of the LPs "Go For It" and "Now Then" (featuring new drummer Dolphin Taylor, previously of the Tom Robinson Band )which failed to satisfy their fans, and the live LP "Hanx". In 1983 the band decided to call it a day In 1987, Burns reformed the band with McMordie, Cluney and Taylor. When McMordie left in 1990, he was replaced on bass by Bruce Foxton, previously of The Jam. McMordie rejoined the b (...)

2 Tracks
A Alternative Ulster2:43
B '78 Revolutions A Minute2:36

Remixed at Olympic Studios

Remixed by Rough Trade & Doug Bennett

For John Peel who made it possible.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 20 customer reviews

Fugazi - Steady Diet Of Nothing (1991) CD Album
Circle Jerks - Wild In The Streets (1982) Vinyl Album LP Reissue
The Offspring - Ignition (1992) CD Album Repress
GBH - Momentum (2017)
Refused - This Just Might Be... ...The Truth (1993) Vinyl Album LP
Lords Of The New Church - Russian Roulette (1982) Vinyl Album 7"
Kauniit Poliisit - Lekalla Päähän (2020) Vinyl 7"
Consume - Self-Titled comp.
Misfits - Halloween (1981) Vinyl Album 7"
Tragedy - Fury LP
The Turbo A.C.'s - Hit And Run (1999) Vinyl 7"
Ebba Grön - Prorock (1978) Vinyl Album 7"
Primer Regimen - Ultimo Testamento EP 2018
Fuckemos - Celebration! (1997) Vinyl 10"
Doom - Corrupt Fucking System LP
Wakefield - American Made (2020) CD
The Casualties - On The Front Line (2020) Vinyl Album LP
Control - Democracy Is Dead (2019)
Some Girls
The Exploited - On Stage (1981) Vinyl Album LP
Side By Side - You're Only Young Once... (1988) Vinyl 7" EP
Jerry's Kids - Is This My World? (1983) Vinyl Album LP Reissue
Aufbruch - Flexibel (2020) Cassette Album
Dicks - Recorded Live At Raul's Club (1980) Vinyl 7" EP
Joey Ramone - Don't Worry About Me (2020) Vinyl Album LP
The Living End - All Torn Down (1998) CD Album
Cosmic Psychos - Cosmic Psychos (1987) Vinyl Album LP
Mama Tick - Hatefest / Breathe Out (2020) Vinyl 7"
Blue-Green Gods - Live In The Fatherland / Forming (1993) Vinyl 7"
Axegrinder - Rise Of The Serpent Men (1988) CD Album
The Clash - London Calling / Armagideon Time (1979) Vinyl Album 7"
Scandal – on the roll
More From Haley Heynderickx
The Bouncing Souls - Maniacal Laughter (1995) CD Album
RC 5 - In The Bottle (2020) Vinyl 7"
Svart Aggression - Kaaos / Svart Aggression (2020) Vinyl 7" EP

Related Articles & Comments

Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

No gods no masters

Neither master nor slave

Good people disobey bad laws
No gods no masters

Illegal immigration started in 1492