Tagada Jones
Appalachian Terror Unit - We will continue to break the law and destroy property until we win

The Adicts
Mischief Brew

Kropotkin, Bakunin & Goldman punx
Guitar punk

Mischief Brew - Boiling breakfast early
Disclose - D-Beat raw punk

Stiff Little Fingers – Song By Song (A Collection Of Jake Burns’ Personal Favourites) (2020) CD

Band: Stiff Little Fingers

Album: Song By Song (A Collection Of Jake Burns' Personal Favourites)

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock

Label: EMI Gold

Release Country: United Kingdom

Record Type: 15 Tracks CD

Northern irish Punk band formed around 1977 with the original members being Jake Burns, Ali McMordie, Henry Cluney & Brian Faloon.

This version of the band recorded their first LP "Inflammable Material" which included their signature songs about life in Belfast, "Alternative Ulster", "Suspect Device" and "Wasted Life" but also a musically bold reworking of Bob Marley's "Johnny Was"

Moving to London in 1979, the band lost Brian Faloon who was replaced on drums by Jim Reilly. They recorded the LP "Nobody's Heroes" for Chrysalis, an LP which was poppier than "Inflammable Material" but continued exploring similar themes. A cover of the Specials "Doesn't Make It Alright" was included, less successfully than "Johnny Was". "Nobody's Heroes" was followed by the pure power pop of the LPs "Go For It" and "Now Then" (featuring new drummer Dolphin Taylor, previously of the Tom Robinson Band )which failed to satisfy their fans, and the live LP "Hanx". In 1983 the band decided to call it a day

In 1987, Burns reformed the band with McMordie, Cluney and Taylor. When McMordie left in 1990, he was replaced on bass by Bruce Foxton, previously of The Jam. McMordie rejoined the b (...)


15 Tracks
1 Suspect Device2:37
2 Alternative Ulster2:44
3 Johnny Was8:11
4 Nobody's Hero4:10
5 Tin Soldiers4:47
6 At The Edge2:58
7 Roots, Radicals, Rockers And Reggae3:55
8 Just Fade Away3:05
9 Bits Of Kids3:42
10 Is That What You Fought The War For?3:56
11 (I Could Be) Happy Yesterday4:07
12 The Roaring Boys6:06
13 Last Train From The Wasteland4:51
14 Hope Street3:32
15 Strummerville3:20

Features a song by song interview with Jake by Alan Parker.

The title of track 7 is misstated on the back cover as 'Roots, Radical, Rockers And Reggae'.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 66 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments



Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

The Oppressed - lion city skinheads

The Virus - Nowhere To Hide
Punk Skull similar to The Exploited

Pisschrist - Defy fight protest survive abolish

Leftover Crack - World trade is a death-machine