Old punks never die

Crass - You're already dead
Up the punx - Nevermind the media, corporations and their ignorance

The Oppressed - totally oppressed

The Oppressed
Crucified punk & skin

The Undertones – Cher O’ Bowlies: The Pick Of The Undertones (1986) Vinyl LP

Band: The Undertones

Album: Cher O' Bowlies: The Pick Of The Undertones

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock New Wave

Label: Ardeck

Release Country: Canada

Record Type: 20 Tracks Vinyl LP

The Undertones formed in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1975. Their debut EP, Teenage Kicks, was released by Belfast record shop owner Terry Hooley on his Good Vibrations label in September 1978. The song captivated Britain's top DJ, John Peel, who played the song on his BBC radio show. This attracted a deal from Sire, which released the band's debut LP in April 1979. That Autumn, The Undertones earned kudos as a support act on the Clash's American tour.

A second LP, Hypnotised, was recorded and released in 1980, followed in 1981 by their first LP for EMI, Positive Touch. The Sin Of Pride was released in 1983, shortly before the Undertones split up in the summer of 1983 after a series of summer festival gigs.

Feargal Sharkey launched a short-lived solo career, while the O'Neills won critical plaudits - but little sales - for their tough-minded political band, That Petrol Emotion. Hopes of re-forming the original lineup for John Peel's 50th birthday fell apart after the O'Neills' father died. Their first new album in 20 years, Get What You Need, was released in September 2003.

Original Line-up: John and Damian O’Neill - guitar; Michael Bradley - bass; Billy Doherty - drums; Feargal Sharkey - vocals.


20 Tracks
A1 Teenage Kicks2:26
A2 True Confessions1:53
A3 Get Over You2:40
A4 Family Entertainment2:36
A5 Jimmy Jimmy2:42
A6 Here Comes The Summer1:43
A7 You Got My Number (Why Don't You Use It)2:36
A8 My Perfect Cousin2:36
A9 See That Girl2:22
A10 Tearproof2:19
A11 Wednesday Week2:16
B1 It's Going To Happen!3:37
B2 Julie Ocean3:32
B3 You're Welcome2:42
B4 Forever Parade3:04
B5 Beautiful Friend3:22
B6 The Love Parade3:27
B7 Valentine's Treatment2:47
B8 Love Before Romance4:48
B9 Save Me2:30

B1 is titled "It's Going To Happen!" on back cover and "It's Goin' To Happen" on label

B9 copyright credit for "Nobete Music (UK) Ltd." is a typo and should read "Jobete Music (UK) Ltd." as it is a Smokey Robinson & The Miracles cover

Rated 4.5/5 based on 315 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments



Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

Against all authority
The Adicts

Discharge - Decontrol
Leftover Crack - Rock the 40 oz.

Oi! since '77
Crass - You're already dead

A Global Threat
The oppressed - Antifa hooligans

Menu Title