UK Subs – Another Kind Of Blues (1979) Vinyl Album LP

Band: UK Subs

Album: Another Kind Of Blues

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock

Label: RCA

Release Country: United Kingdom

Record Type: 17 Tracks Vinyl Album LP

The UK Subs were another group that emerged from the scene at The Roxy in London in 1977. Founder and Lead Vocalist Charlie Harper was playing in R&B and pub rock groups before being influenced by bands like The Damned to turn to punk. The band was based around Harper's growling Cockney vocals with Nicky Garratt on Guitar, Paul Slack on Bass and a variety of drummers. Although adopting punk stylings, the bands work was still heavily influenced by R&B, albeit played fast. Their sound was most similar to Sham 69 or The Angelic Upstarts, although without the skinhead following Whilst never having a big hit, several singles made the lower reaches of the Top 30 in the late 70s, including "Stranglehold", "Tomorrow's Girls", a cover of The Zombies classic "She's Not There" and "Warhead". The first two studio LPs "Another Kind of Blues" and "Brand New Age" also made the lower reaches of the album charts. In 1983 Nicky Garratt left the band along with bass player Alvin Gibbs and then drummer Kim Wylie leaving Charlie Harper to recruit a whole new band. Garratt would come back in and out of the line-up over the following 25 years whilst Charlie carried on touring and recording with an almost ever changing line-up. The UK Subs are the only band to record an album for every letter of the alphabet, in order, reaching Z (Ziezo) in 2016.

17 Tracks
A1 C.I.D.2:10
A2 I Couldn't Be You2:06
A3 I Live In A Car1:36
A4 Tomorrows Girls2:24
A5 Killer1:28
A6 World War1:06
A7 Rockers3:15
A8 I.O.D.1:22
B1 T.V.Blues2:08
B2 Blues1:50
B3 Lady Esquire1:50
B4 All I Wanna Know1:48
B5 Crash Course1:40
B6 Young Criminals2:18
B7 B.I.C.1:35
B8 Disease1:25
B9 Stranglehold2:26

Recorded at Kingsway Recorders Ltd. (May, June 1979)

℗ 1979 GEM records
© 1979 GEM records
Manufactured and distributed by RCA
Printed in England by Robert Stace
Marketed by GEM Records

Printed picture inner sleeve:
With thanks to John Peel
Agency: MAM

This release was issued with blue labels:
A1, A5 to A8 Copyright Control, A2 Phab/Warner Bros. Music Ltd., A3 Sparta Florida Music Group Ltd., A4 Famous Chapell
B1 to B8 Copyright Control, A9 Famous Chappell
℗ 1979 Gem Toby Records, Inc.
Manufactured and distributed by RCA Limited, Record Division, England.

Rated 4.5/5 based on 18 customer reviews

Blood Pressure - Demos
Mankind? - Beast Or Burden (1994) Vinyl 7" EP
Bedford Falls - Savings & Loan (2009)
The Ejected - Press The Button E.P. (2020) Vinyl 7" EP
Extreme Noise Terror - Phonophobia (1991) Vinyl 12"
MM Shorts 999: The Black Delta Movement
MDC - Smoke Signals (1986) Vinyl Album LP
MxPx - The Ever Passing Moment (2020) CD Album
The Damned - Live Shepperton 1980 (1982) Cassette
The Clash - Complete Control Vinyl Album 7"
The Marked Men - The Marked Men (2020) Vinyl Album LP
Voodoo Glow Skulls - Dog Pile (1993) Vinyl 7"
Peter And The Test Tube Babies - Banned From The Pubs (1982) Vinyl Album 7"
So What! - Turn Away CD
The Kids - Black Out (1981) Vinyl Album LP
Sex Pistols - Live At The Longhorn (1982) DVD
7 Seconds - Walk Together, Rock Together (1986) Vinyl Album LP
Inspiring Records
One By One - One By One (2020) Vinyl Album LP
Social Distortion - Social Distortion (1990) Vinyl Album LP
Drunks With Guns - Alter Human Industrial Fetishisms (2020) Vinyl 7"
Klischee - Normalzustand (1981) Vinyl Album LP
Plutonium Pie - Animal (2020) CDr
The Cramps - Smell Of Female (1983) Vinyl Album 12"
Axegrinder - Rise Of The Serpent Men (1988) CD Album
Oberkampf - Linda (1983) Vinyl Album 7"
Overcharge - Speedsick LP
Tozcos - Sueños Deceptivos LP 2018
Crass - Sheep Farming In The Falklands (1983) Vinyl Album 7"
The Ruts - West One (Shine On Me) (2020) Vinyl 7"
Dirty Rotten Imbeciles - Dirty Rotten LP (1983) Vinyl Album LP Reissue
Tiger Army - II: Power Of Moonlite (2020) CD Album
Kansandemokratia - Vainottu (2020) Vinyl 7" EP
The Macc Lads - Beer & Sex & Chips N Gravy (1985) Vinyl Album LP
Bad Noids - It's A Doggie Bag World EP
Hammerhead - Stay Where The Pepper Grows (1993) Vinyl Album LP

Related Articles & Comments

Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

Antifascist action
Keep your country nice and clean

A.C.A.B. All Cops Are Bastards

Evolution barcode
Illegal immigration started in 1492

RASH - Red & Anarchist Skinheads
Ni dieu ni maître!