2017-05-17 ALBUM REVIEW – PLASTIC PADDY "Lucky Enough" (2017)


Plastic Paddy “Lucky Enough”
Release date: March 4, 2017
Running time: 42:50.,12 tracks


Pladdohg was a band from the San Francisco Bay area that released a couple of albums, “More Songs about Drinking and Fighting” (2007) and “Hair of the Dog” (2010), and covered “Whiskey Devils” on the “Whiskey Devils – A Tribute to The Mahones”  album (2010). Pladdohg disbanded in May 2014, but some of the members, Patrick Russ, Erin Bloom and Robin DeMartini), reunited in a new band, Plastic Paddy.

Plastic Paddy are Erin Bloom (vocals, bodhrán, tambourine), John Gomes (vocals, electric guitar, slide guitar), Matt Faris (vocals, bass), Robin DeMartini (flute, piccolo, vocals), Patrick Russ (vocals, acoustic guitar, baritone guitar, mandolin, tenor banjo) and Logan Cruz (drums). Their debut album is titled “Lucky Enough” and consists of 3 originals written by Patrick, 2 originals written by John, 1 original written by Erin, a cover of Greg Trooper’s “Ireland”, 4 standards and 1 traditional tune.

My favourite songs are the ones that are sung by Erin. “Scali Li” is a song with a British folk-rock twist. “Irish Lass” is a top-notch song showcasing Erin’s vocals and Matt’s bass. “I Know My Love” was recorded by The Chieftains with The Corrs on the “Tears of Stone Album” and Plastic Paddy’s rendition is excellent too. “Dicey Riley” is a Dubliners‘ standard and it’s interesting to hear this song sung by a girl. And the country cover of “Ireland” is played with gusto.

Even if I prefer the songs that are sung by Erin, I feel that the best song on “Lucky One” is “London After Midnight”. The band show their Californian rock background on this number featuring electric guitar. “Beer from St. James Gate” is another highlight, an awesome ballad about Guinness.

Finally, the closing number is a true gem, the instrumental “Biscuits to a Bear”. Robin does a great job on the whole album, but this is the track where her talent is more obvious. Her fellows on rhythm section and bodhrán are spotless too.

Plastic PaddyLucky Enough” is not the usual album that is reviewed here, but it’s worth hearing. A polished sound, slide guitar, flute and piccolo, Erin’s vocals and a competent rhythm section make Plastic Paddy a different band. Check out their songs on reverbnation and download the catchy song ”Rundlets and Kilderkins” for free. If you enjoy their stuff, then go to CDbaby to buy a physical copy.

Track listing

01. Rundlets and Kilderkins 2:43   
02. Scali Li 4:21   
03. Ireland 5:49
04. Whisky You’re the Devil 2:40
05. Irish Lass 2:54
06. Beer from St James Gate 3:01
07. Muirshin Durkin 2:35
08. I Know My Love 4:36
09. London After Midnight 2:59
10. Choose Me Now 3:01
11. Dicey Riley 3:20
12. Biscuits to a Bear 4:46


Click to buy:


Review by Kinksmarkham

Related Post

· · · · · ·

Related Articles & Comments

Menu Title