2016-05-15 ALBUM REVIEW – THE O’REILLYS AND THE PADDYHATS "Seven Hearts One Soul" (2016)

The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats “Seven Hearts One Soul” (2016)
Release date: April 9, 2016
Running time: 31:32 , 11 tracks
The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats are probably the most international of the bands from the latest German Celtic punk wave. For instance, they have already played in Russia, Spain or Switzerland. “Seven Hearts One Soul” is their second album and the band keeps on evolving.

Seven Hearts One Soul” has 1 spoken intro, 9 self-penned songs and 1 Irish standard. I have enjoyed particularly their two pirate numbers, the amazing “Black Sails” (featuring fantastic electric guitar) and “Chief of the Sea”, a brilliant number with a Fiddler’s Green twist and a catchy fiddle and accordion theme. More Fiddler’s Green echoes can be heard on the kick-ass number “Hey You”, a song with an infectious chorus.

There are a couple of brilliant rebel folk numbers, the original “We All Know” and “Black and Tans”. You’re right, that Irish standard is overexposed, but The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats have been able to deliver a brand new rendition featuring in yer face tin whistle, electric guitar and fantastic fiddle and percussion arrangements.

Fair Old Lady” moves to a different end. The song is a love song to a/their hometown and the chorus has an Indonesian Celtic Punk feel. Great song. The lyrics to “Hang by the Neck” are stuck to the traditional folk, together with the single “Barrels of Whiskey”, which is a killer track too. A song about moonshining? The easiest way would be to cover “(The Rare Auld) Mountain Dew”, but The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats prefer to bet on an original song. And the final result is excellent. The official video for this song is available HERE and an acoustic live version can be watched HERE, courtesy of Robin Hiermer from The Ceili Family and Radio Hagen.

The album is housed in a six panel digipack. The 16 page booklet has any info you should need: lyrics to all of the songs, studio credits, plenty of live pics, acknowledgements, the line-up (monikers), songs credits and list of musicians (real names).

The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats’ new offering is a well-balanced mix of Pirate punk, rebel songs, traditional inspired stuff and Celtic punk at its best. And the packaging is a real labour of love. Hurry up, maybe you could grab one of the special limited edition box sets!


01 Intro 0:28
02 Black Sails 3:20
03 We All Know 2:55
04 Black and White 3:12
05 Chief of the Sea 3:59
06 Barrels of Whiskey 3:55
07 Hey You 3:27
08 Fair Old Lady 3:06
09 What I Am 2:59
10 Hang By the Neck 2:41
11 Black and Tans 3:16    


Click to buy:

Box Set Limited Edition
Band’s Store

Review by Kinksmarkham

Related Post

· · · ·

Related Articles & Comments

Menu Title