Mischief Brew
No justice, no peace

Mischief Brew - Up the pugs
Flux Of Pink Indians - A//E

Up the punx - Nevermind the media, corporations and their ignorance

Old punks never die
Black Flag

The Jam – Snap! (1983) Vinyl LP

Band: The Jam

Album: Snap!

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock Mod

Label: Metronome

Release Country: Germany

Record Type: 29 Tracks Vinyl LP

Formed in Woking, England in 1976, The Jam consisted of three Members - Paul Weller (Lead Guitar, Vocals,) Rick Buckler (Drums & Percussion) and Bruce Foxton (Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals). Foxton, joined in 1977, leaving local Rock band 'Zita'. As time went on and the style of the Jam’s music progressed into the 1980s, additional musicians were recruited for brass sections, percussion and backing vocals; in the case of the latter, a young female vocalist from Telford called Tracie Young (who subsequently had her own top 10 UK hit in 1983 as a solo artist with the pop song "The House That Jack Built") also appeared on the group's last three singles and was an original member of Weller’s next group; The Style Council.

By his own admission (in The Jam’s official 1983 Biography 'A Beat Concerto', written by Paolo Hewitt) Weller was influenced into forming The Jam after going to a concert of London Punk band The Clash. The name of the group came from Weller’s sister who suggested the title at breakfast one day. The first Album ‘In The City’ (1977) reflected the period of New Wave Punk that was happening in London at that time. Other songs on the album, which reflected Weller’s Punk influences, are the fran (...)


29 Tracks
A1 In The City2:17
A2 Away From The Numbers3:59
A3 All Around The World2:25
A4 The Modern World2:30
A5 News Of The World3:26
A6 Billy Hunt3:01
A7 English Rose2:48
A8 Mr. Clean3:28
B1 David Watts2:54
B2 A Bomb In Wardour Street2:32
B3 Down In The Tube Station At Midnight4:03
B4 Strange Town3:49
B5 The Butterfly Collector3:05
B6 When You're Young3:12
B7 Smithers-Jones2:57
B8 Thick As Thieves3:38
C1 The Eton Rifles3:26
C2 Going Underground2:54
C3 Dreams Of Children2:57
C4 That's Entertainment3:16
C5 Start!2:17
C6 Man In The Corner Shop3:12
C7 Funeral Pyre3:27
D1 Absolute Beginners2:49
D2 Tales From The Riverbank3:34
D3 Town Called Malice2:53
D4 Precious3:33
D5 The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)3:24
D6 Beat Surrender3:28

Track C1 printed just as "Eton Rifles" on label.

Album titled just as "Snap" on all labels.

℗ 1983, © 1983

Made in Germany

'Funeral Pyre' was remixed in August 1983 as nobody was completely happy with the original mix.

It was decided to use the demo version of 'That's Entertainment' on this L.P. Although technically not as good as the later version recorded for 'SOUND FFECTS', the demo has a certain quality that was never captured again.

[Note: missing A in 'SOUND AFFECTS']

A1 to A4: P. 1977

A5 to B3: P. 1978

B4 to C1: P. 1979

C2 to C6: P. 1980

C7 to D2: P. 1981

D3 to D6: P. 1982

This Compilation P. 1983

Rated 4.5/5 based on 847 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments



Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

Cop on fire - Every politician is a human disease

Oldschool hardcore

Choking victim - No gods no managers
The Virus - Nowhere To Hide

Reagan Youth
Angelic Upstarts - I'm an upstart

Menu Title