Nausea - Peace
Anti Cimex - i'll buy all the the uranium you've got

Appalachian Terror Unit - We will continue to break the law and destroy property until we win
Star Fucking Hipsters

The Adicts
Toxic Narcotic - Shoot people, not dope

Pisschrist - Defy fight protest survive abolish
Against all authority

Government Issue – Best Of Government Issue • Live – The Mystic Years (1988) CD Album

Band: Government Issue

Album: Best Of Government Issue • Live - The Mystic Years

Release Date:

Music Genre: Punk Rock Non-Music Interview Hardcore

Label: Performance Records

Release Country: United States

Record Type: 22 Tracks CD Album

Government Issue (often referred to as G.I.) was a punk rock band from Washington, DC. The band formed in 1980 and split in 1989. They began as a hardcore band but overtime transitioned into more alternative rock areas. Singer John "Stabb" Schroeder was the group's only constant member, although original drummer Marc Alberstadt played with the band from 1980 until 1986 and bassist-turned-guitarist Tom Lyle joined the band in 1981 and stayed until the end. Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion) played with the band from 1981 through 1982. The group's final bassist, J. Robbins, who played with the band from 1986 until their split, went on to form Jawbox and became an in-demand engineer and producer.

The band has reunited for shows in 2007 and 2010 but has no plans for a full time reunion.

In 2014, the band played reunion show with 3/4 of the "Legless Bull" line-up playing songs off that record as well as the 1980 demo.

In May 2016, John Stabb passed away after battling stomach cancer.

22 Tracks
1 Interview (Baltimore '81)2:07
2 Familiar (Adelphi, MD '84)2:18
3 Time To Escape (Adelphi, MD '84)1:49
4 The Next Time (Phila. '85)2:10
5 Fun And Games (Phila. '85)1:03
6 These Boots (D.C. '84)3:00
7 Hall Of Fame (Minn. '83)1:14
8 Reflections (D.C. '84)1:20
9 Notch To My Crotch (D.C. '84)1:34
10 Plain To See (Stabb EP)2:20
11 Written Word (Stabb EP)2:14
12 Interview (U. Of MD. '81)1:33
13 Hall Of Fame II (Adelphi, MD '84)1:40
14 Understand (Phila. '85)1:43
15 Teenager In A Box (Wheaton, MD. '84)1:55
16 G.I. (D.C. '82)0:44
17 Hour Of One (D.C. '82)1:25
18 Dead Dog (N.Y.C. '83)3:38
19 Any Final Comments (Baltimore '81)0:19
20 Next Time (Stabb EP)2:07
21 Blending In (Stabb EP)1:34
22 Day Of Reckoning (Stabb EP)1:52

Rated 4.5/5 based on 277 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments



Punk Bands T-shirts ★ Free Worldwide Shipping

Antidote - Go pogo
In crust we trust


Aus-Rotten - Fuck nazi sympathy
The Oppressed - Skinhead times

Negative Approach

Menu Title