Download In Loving Memory Megaupload

File download is hosted on Megaupload

“What a loss to spend that much time with someone, only to find out that she’s a stranger”. Just like the endless supply of Eternal Sunshine quotes, there is no shortage of bands to commemorate today. Though skramz is for lovers, there is no happy here. Exactly four years ago today, this little tradition began, where each Valentine’s Day a band is posted to sadgasm to. It started with The Saddest Landscape, then it was iwrotehaikusaboutcannibalisminyouryearbook, then You And I, then Love Lost But Not Forgotten, and this year (as you probably already guessed), it’s In Loving Memory. We started from the bottom, and have continued to sink lower into a pit of self-imposed loneliness, depression and despair.

In Loving Memory was a six-piece screamo band from Des Moines, Iowa that lasted from 1998 to 2001. Though I usually like to give more background to a band, anything that needs to be said about them has already been documented to perfection in this blog post on Iowa Hardcore. It provides a full, detailed account of the band’s members, history, and also includes links to their discography. I’m just going to touch upon their sound. The band played a frantic and frenzied form of hardcore/screamo that was influenced by all this genre’s legends, including Saetia and Jeromes Dream. They also shared a guitarist with The Spirit Of Versailles, another classic band. They also had two vocalists providing dual male/female vocals, which was a major factor in this cathartic chaos that they created. Their lyrics were personal, albeit brief snippets of poetry that leave the listener to fill in the blanks with their own reflections.

 In Loving Memory’s recorded output was very small, with only two splits and one full-length (titled As Years Pass And Feel Like Seconds) being put out, and one of those splits featured tracks also on the full-length. Those are available over at Iowa Hardcore, which is the blog link I provided earlier, so full credit where credit is due. What I have here is the proper release of their full discography, which was put out in 2012 by Init Records. These recordings have been remastered, so the quality’s a lot better, and you can really hear the complete chaos this band had to offer. Keep this shit on repeat today, cry if you like, indulge in your lonely estate and just know by next year it won’t get better. Happy V-Day. Enjoy.

1. This Is Ours
2. Who You Enthrall
3. Moments Like These
4. Open The Door For Me
5. The Choice Has Always Been Yours
6. There’s So Much To Say
7. I Burned It Down
8. Caught Up In The Most Simple Of Things
9. Remember
10. Tonight I Scream
11. Song #1
12. Song #2
13. Song #3
14. Song #4

Rated 4.5/5 based on 1,086 customer reviews

Related Articles & Comments

Comments are closed.

punk bands tshirts punk bands tshirts


Punk Bands Merch ★ Free Worldwide Shipping